Texas Girls Coaches Association


Thanks for a great season and have a great summer

Yours in Sport

Butch Hart
Editor in Chief
TGCA Sports Polls
Email: ejhartvb@yahoo.com


2014 Texas Girls Coaches Association Softball Poll
June 11, 2014


    Class 1A
  1. Weimar
  2. Harleton
  3T. Hubbard
  3T. Petrolia
  5t. Windthorst
  5t. Grapeland
  5t. Shiner
  5t. Bosqueville
  9t. Port Aransas
  9t. Dodd City
  9t. Beckville
  9t. Albany
  9t. Harper
  9t. Zavalla
  9t. Trenton
  9t. Haskell
  17t. Stamford
  17t. Seymour
  17t. Forsan
  17t. Archer City
  17t. Slocum
  17t. Cushing
  17t. Cayuga
  17t. Alto
  17t. Thrall
  17t. Sabinal
  17t. Holland
  17t. Center Point
  17t. Frost
  17t. Sam Rayburn
  17t. Mart
  17t. Lindsay

Honorable Mention: Santa Anna, West Texas, Ozona, Sundown, Evadale, Detroit, Normangee, Goldthwaite, Sulphur bluff, Gorman, Blue Ridge, Woodsboro and Somerville.


Comments: Weimar earned their title with great wins over district rival Shiner, Thrall, Port Aransas and then two more at state. The Cats were just too good this year and they move into a district next season with not only Shiner but Schulenburg, Flatonia and Ganado.  Ouch.


Conference 1A
Pitcher- Kendall Marak*, Sr. Weimar
Cather- Hunter Ervin, So. Weimar
1B- Ali Modisette, Jr. Harleton
2B- Taylor Pyland, Jr. Harleton
3B- Bailey Cernosek, Jr. Weimar
SS- Emma Holland, Fr. Weimar
OF- McKenna Munsch, Sr. Weimar
OF- Avery Underwood, Fr. Harleton
OF- Macy Ridinger, Jr. Petrolia
Utility- Baylee Cochran, Sr. Harleton
* Denotes Championship Game MVP

    Class 2A
  1. Crawford
  2 East Bernard
  3t. Hawley
  3t. Lone Oak
  5t. Mount Vernon
  5t. Salado
  5t. Natalia
  5t. Bangs
  9t. Woodville
  9t. Bushland
  9t. Brock
  9t. Whitesboro
  9t. White Oak
  9t. Odem
  9t. Colorado City
  9t. Boling
  17t. Brownfield
  17t. Ballinger
  17t. Coahoma
  17t. Alpine
  17t. Garrison
  17t. Bruceville-Eddy
  17t. Rogers
  17t. Troup
  17t. Whitewright
  17t. Pattonville Prairieland
  17t. Grandview
  17t. Malakoff Cross Roads
  17t. Danbury
  17t. Santa Gertrudis Academy
  17t. Schulenburg
  17t. Vanderbilt Industrial

Honorable Mention: Slaton, Bowie, Muleshoe, Franklin, Johnson City, Anahuac, Teague, Pilot Point, Hughes Springs, Godley, Ponder and Hallettsville.


Comments: Crawford went toe to toe with preseason favorite East Bernard and claimed the victory.  East Bernard had advanced with a win over previously undefeated Hawley.


Conference 2A
Pitcher- Carrigan Chambers, Sr. Crawford
Cather- Sydney Christensen, Sr. Crawford
1B- Cheyenne Lynch, Sr. Crawford
2B- Tori Phillips, Sr. Crawford
3B- Kelbi Fortenberry, So. East Bernard
SS- Morgan Groppe*, Sr. Crawford
OF- Jessica Tomchesson, Sr. Crawford
OF- Angelica Lopez, Sr. East Bernard
OF- Haley Clark, So. East Bernard
Utility- Samantha Show, Jr. East Bernard
* Denotes Championship Game MVP

  Class 3A
  1. LaGrange
  2. Van
  3t. Huffman-Hargrave
  3t. Snyder
  5t. Pampa
  5t. Atlanta
  5t. :LaVernia
  5t. Celina
  9t. Columbia
  9t. Lufkin Hudson
  9t. West
  9t. Liberty Hill
  9t. Kingsville King
  9t. Devine
  9t. Lampasas
  9t. Sanger
  17t. Andrews
  17t. Mineral Wells
  17t. Lubbock Cooper
  17t. Brownwood
  17t. Huntington
  17t. Liberty
  17t. Caldwell
  17t. Sweeny
  17t. Princeton
  17t. Bullard
  17t. Lone Star
  17t. Liberty Eylau
  17t. Navarro
  17t. Rio Hondo
  17t. Orange Grove
  17t. Columbus

Honorable Mention: Fort Stockton, Glen Rose, Kennedale, Burkburnett, Rusk, Washington, Robinson, Orangefield, Ferris and Rains.


Comments: LaGrange led from start to finish as the Leopards dropped the opening game of the season to 5A Pearland in the Brenham tournament then strung together more than 30 wins. 


Conference 3A
Pitcher- Marissa Zoch, So. La Grange
Cather- Hatti Moore, Fr. La Grange
1B- Naudia Gonzales, Jr. Snyder
2B- Priscilla Guzman, Jr. Snyder
3B- Kristy Bertsch*, Jr. La Grange
SS- Alyssa Angel, Sr. La Grange
OF- Hallee Carter, Jr. Van
OF- Blake-Ann Fritsch, So. La Grange
OF- Jordain Castillo, Jr. Van
Utility- Kylee Moore, Jr. Van
* Denotes Championship Game MVP

  Class 4A
  1. Aledo
  2. Ennis
  3t. Barbers Hill
  3t. Hays
  5t. Medina Valley
  5t. Pearland Dawson
  5t. Azle
  5t. Hallsville
  9t. Leander
  9t. Elgin
  9t. Santa Fe
  9t. Canyon
  9t. North Forney
  9t. Frenship
  9t. Mercedes
  9t. Mesquite Poteet
  17t. Denton Guyer
  17t. Canyon Randall
  17t. Fort Worth Brewer
  17t. El Paso Chapin
  17t. Magnolia
  17t. Angleton
  17t. Dayton
  17t. Ridge Point
  17t. Little Elm
  17t. Texarkana Texas
  17t. Centennial
  17t. Wylie
  17t. Dripping Springs
  17t. Corpus Christi Moody
  17t. Leander Rouse
  17t. Gregory-Portland

Honorable Mention: Centennial, Birdville, El Paso Hanks, Vidor, Montgomery, Houston Waltrip, Dallas Wilson, Seagoville, Whitehouse, Brennan and Austin Crockett.


Comments:  Coming into the finals, this was the most evenly matched group as showed in a pair of one run semifinal contest.  Aledo got hot and won their second title, first since 2008 while Hays fell a wild tag play at the plate from defending their title and unbeaten Barbers Hill came up just a run short as well.  Great field and actually the four regional finalists would have represented the area well.  This was a class that if the tournament was replayed as many as 12 schools would will, but Aledo won when it counted.


Conference 4A
Pitcher- Lauren Craine, jr. Aledo
Cather- Alli Ramsey, Aledo
1B- Kayla Prachyl, Ennis
2B- Rhylie Makawe*, Aledo
3B- Riley Sartain, Aledo
SS- Allie Arneson, Aledo
OF- Julia Hollingsworth, Ennis
OF- Kadyn Kirkpatrick, Aledo
OF- Haylee Bowen, Aledo
Utility- Michaela Cochran, Ennis
* Denotes Championship Game MVP

  Class 5A
  1. Deer Park
  2. The Woodlands
  3t. Lubbock Coronado
  3t. San Antonio Southwest
  5t. San Marcos
  5t. Houston Bellaire
  5t. Rockwall
  5t. Mansfield Timberview
  9t. Flower Mound
  9t. Plano West
  9t. Pearland
  9t. San Benito
  9t. Katy Seven Lakes
  9t. Kingwood
  9t. Eagle Pass
  9t. Richland
  17t. Midland
  17t. Lewisville
  17t. Keller
  17t. Hebron
  17t. Katy Cinco Ranch
  17t. Brazoswood
  17t. Cy-Fair
  17t. Alvin
  17t. McKinney Boyd
  17t. Conroe Oak Ridge
  17t. Plano
  17t. Atascocita
  17t. CIbolo Steele
  17t. Los Fresnos
  17t. Corpus Christi Carroll
  17t. Edinburg North

Honorable Mention: Arlington Martin, El Paso Montwood, Heritage, Irving MacArthur, Fort Bend Clements, Garland Rowlett, Round Rock, Pflugerville, Pearce, Stony Point, Westlake, Lady Bird Johnson and San Antonio Holmes.


Comments:  Deer Park claimed the top spot for the second time in three years as the lady Der beat 2011 titlest The Woodlands in the finals.  The Greater Houston Area has won five the last seven titles with only Lewisville in 2013 and Smithson Valley in 2009 breaking the run.


Conference 5A
Pitcher- Payton McBride*, So. Deer Park
Cather- Kelcy Leach, Fr. Conroe The Woodlands
1B- Caitlin Plocheck, Sr. Deer Park
2B- Tyler Galena, Jr. Deer Park
3B- Rhonda Jarvis, Jr. Deer Park
SS- Aubrey Leach, Jr. Conroe The Woodlands
OF- Haley Harrison, Sr. Deer Park
OF- Devann Hebert, Sr. Deer Park
OF- Brittany Mann, Sr. Conroe The Woodlands
Utility- Sidney Salmans, Sr. Conroe The Woodlands
* Denotes Championship Game MVP





revive About Us | Site Map | Privacy Policy | Contact Us |©2009 Revive Properties LTD. LLP - G.P. Revive Management Inc.